

POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY MINUTES November 17, 2023 – 12:00 p.m. Rock Hill Operations Center – Room 132

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Tom Audette; Brian Carnes; Guynn Savage; John Gettys; Chris Gray; Kathy Pender; Christi Cox; Derrick Lindsay; Heath Sessions; Ben Hudgins; Jim Reno (P); and Watts Huckabee.

ADMINISTRATIVE / TECHNICAL / MANAGEMENT STAFF PRESENT:

Shantrise Harris (FHWA); Patrick Hamilton (York County); Jim Walden (SCDOT); Vic Edwards (SCDOT); Nick Cauthen (City of Tega Cay); Josh Meetze (SCDOT); Penelope Karagounis (Town of Fort Mill); Diane Dil (York County); Jason Johnston (SCDOT); Terrence Nealy (City of Rock Hill); David Hudspeth (York County); Leah Youngblood (City of Rock Hill); Michael Moore (York County) Chris Herrmann (City of Rock Hill); Cliff Goolsby (City of Rock Hill); Tommy Feemster (SCDOT); Stephen Allen (CRCOG); Scot Sibert (WSP); Rob Dubnicka (STV, Inc); and David Hooper (RFATS).

CITIZENS / VISITORS PRESENT: Cleopatra Allen (CAC); Jim Van Blarcom (CAC); Luther Dasher (CAC); Brett Harrelson (Consultant): Zack Zapack (Pennies Sales Tax Commission); Frank Myers (CAC); Liz Duda (City of Tega Cay); Fred Frank (WSP, USA); Phil Leazer (KCI); Tyler Cupp (WRHI); Terry Snow; Leni M; David Kearns (HDR); Gretchen Benner (Fort Mill Resident); and Dr. David Keeley (CAC).

1. CALL TO ORDER:

a. Welcome – Chair Audette called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. and welcomed all in attendance.

b. Citizen Comment Period – Ms. Duda highlighted an upcoming walkability assessment and extended an invitation to all in attendance; Ms. Benner emphasized the continued importance of pedestrian safety and the need to improve the connection between residential developments and school locations.

2. REVIEW / APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Audette asked if there were any changes, deletions, or comments to the minutes of the September 22, 2023 meeting. Mr. Audetter then made a motion to approve; this was seconded by Ms. Savage and unanimously approved.

3. REPORTS:

a. Celanese / I-77 Interchange Evaluation Report – Mr. Mattox provided an overview of the study objective and then asked Mr. Dubnicka to review each phase of work completed to date. Detailed information was then provided on key data inputs (i.e., existing conditions; projected growth characteristics; turning movement counts, project area safety variables, etc.); the range of alternative configurations considered and their benefits and drawbacks; as well as potential right-of-way impacts. Discussion then followed regarding next steps in the continued development of a recommended alternative – which is expected in late December / early January.

4. PROPOSED POLICY COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

a. MRM County Control Totals – Mr. Sibert provided an overview of this "top down" assessment of projected growth through 2060 and the associated analysis / discussion that has occurred among modeling partners. As a point of reference, Mr. Hooper noted that this type of evaluation is completed every 10 years as a supplement to the socio-economic update that RFATS completes each year. Discussion then followed with the Policy Committee granting adoption for application in the MRM in support of the upcoming update to the Long Range Transportation Plan.

b. 2020 Decennial Census – Mr. Hooper briefly reviewed the actions associated with the release and application of the 2020 Decennial Census Urbanized Areas (i.e., updated planning area boundary; membership on the Policy Committee; updated bylaws, etc.), and then requested approval of a resolution of support documenting these actions for submission to SCDOT and FHWA. A motion to approve was made by Mr. Carnes and seconded by Ms. Savage; the motion was then unamiously approved.

c. Public Participation Plan Update – Mr. Hooper noted the completion of our 3 year review, and then requested approval contingent on any comments received during a 45-day public comment period. Motion to approve was made by Mr. Carnes and seconded by Ms. Savage; the motion was then unanimously approved.

d. Policy Committee Meeting (2024) – Mr. Hooper briefly reviewed the proposed schedule for 2024 and then requested its approval. Mr. Audette then made a motion for approval; seconded by Mr. Carnes and the motion was unamiously approved.

5. OTHER BUSINESS:

a. Administrative Report – Mr. Hooper briefly noted items reflected in the report.

b. Service Recognition (Ms. Pender) – Mr. Hooper noted that today's meeting was the last for Ms. Pender who has served on the Policy Committee since November 2007. Mr. Hooper then presented Ms. Pender with a plaque for her years of service to the RFATS Planning Area.

c. Next Meeting – Mr. Audette noted that the next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for January 26, 2024.

6. ADJOURNMENT:

The motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Carnes and seconded by Ms. Savage; the motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned at 1:28 P.M.