

#### POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY MINUTES April 28, 2023 – 12:00 p.m. Rock Hill Operations Center – Room 132

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**: Tom Audette; Brian Carnes; Kathy Pender; Chris Gray; Heath Sessions; Christi Cox; Jim Reno; Michael Johnson; Guynn Savage; Bill Harris; and John Gettys.

# ADMINISTRATIVE / TECHNICAL / MANAGEMENT STAFF PRESENT:

Berry Mattox (SCDOT); Patrick Hamilton (York County); Penelope Karagounis (Town of Fort Mill); Josh Meetze (SCDOT); Jimmy Bagley (City of Rock Hill); David Hudspeth (York County); Lisa Brown (City of Rock Hill); Jonathan Buono (York County); Chris Herrmann (City of Rock Hill); Christina Lewis (SCDOT); Cliff Goolsby (City of Rock Hill); Melanie Mobley (SCDOT); Katie Compton (City of Rock Hill); and David Hooper (RFATS).

**CITIZENS / VISITORS PRESENT:** John Marks (Herald); Cleopatra Allen (CAC); Joel Hamilton (York County Resident); Jim Van Blarcom (CAC); Brett Harrelson (Consultant); Tommy Thompson (resident); Lori Hadedon (resident): Luther Dasher (CAC); Phil Leazer (KCI); Tyler Cupp (WRHI); and Scot Sibert (STV).

### 1. CALL TO ORDER:

a. Welcome – Chair Audette called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. and welcomed all in attendance.

b. Citizen Comment Period – There were no comments received.

### 2. REVIEW / APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Audette asked if there were any changes, deletions, or comments to the minutes of the March 24, 2023 meeting. Mr. Audetter then made a motion to approve; this was seconded by Ms. Pender and unanimously approved.

### 3. REPORTS:

**a. Pennies for Progress Report** – Mr. Hamilton provided a brief overview of existing project priorities and upcoming public outreach meetings supporting the development of the Pennies V referendum. Ms Savage then outlined concerns she has received about operating conditions at the intersection of Spratt / FM Parkway. Mr. Hamilton then provided the latest information on planned project work to enhance area efficiency and safety as well as the applicable timeline.

**b. 2020 Census (Urbanized Area Designations)** – Mr. Hooper briefly reviewed the principal outputs from the 2020 Census (i.e., changes in population; role of the Rock Hill UZA, etc.); and then transitioned to the Policy Committee's request for potential options for considering changes to the memberhship composition and voting structure. Discussion then followed that fractionalized voting should not be utilized; and that an amended version of Option B would best serve the planning area. Specifically, the updated Policy Committee structure would reflect a shift from 12 to 15 members (i.e., Tega Cay 1; York County 3; Town of Fort Mill 2; Catawba Nation 1; Lancaster County 2; City of Rock Hill 3; Transit Representative from City of Rock Hill 1; State House Representative 1; State Senate 1; SCDOT

Commissioner – Ex Officio). This approach reflected the unamious consensus decision of the Policy Committee.

# 4. PROPOSED POLICY COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

**a. 2050 LRTP Amendment (SCDOT System Performance Report** – Mr. Hooper provided a brief overview of the principal discussion points from the System Performance Report; and then requested preliminary approval to amend the 2050 LRTP to reflect this material and authorize a 30-day public comment period. A motion to approve was made by Mr. Audette; seconded by Mr. Carnes and unamiously approved.

### 5. OTHER BUSINESS:

**a.** Administrative Report – Mr. Hooper briefly reviewed presentations made on the US 521 Corridor Study to the Lancaster County Council and to residents of Sun City since the last Policy Committee meeting.

**b.** Next Meeting – Mr. Audette noted that the next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for May 19, 2023.

# 6. ADJOURNMENT:

The motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Audette and seconded by Ms. Savage; the motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned at 1:00 P.M.